Nominees and Winners 2011

The 2011 Brickenden Awards

Wolf Performance Hall
Monday, January 30, 2012
Hosted by Jayson McDonald

Special recognition awards were given to long-time sponsors Nonie Jeffery and Dorinda Greenway, with citations read by Patricia Black, and a remembrance of Edwin Procunier was presented by William Meaden.

Outstanding Comedy Production

  • Her Wake (Pacheco Theatre)
  • Men Telling Stories (That Dinosaur is Blue)
  • oz in a clozet (Len Cuthbert)
  • Project G Force goes to Hawaii (Channel Surfing Productions)
  • The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife (London Community Players)

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Dale Hirlehey and Peter Mennie (The Rocky Horror Show)
  • Rob Coles (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • Rob Coles (Picnic)
  • Rob Coles (The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • Stephen Mitchell (The Hero)

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Andrew Johnson (Earshot)
  • Jayson McDonald (Underbelly)
  • John Pacheco and Scott Shpak (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • Lisa DesGroseilliers and Scott Shpak (Evil Dead the Musical)
  • Peter Mennie and Rob Richardson (The Rocky Horror Show)

Outstanding Youth Drama

  • Curse of the Cobra’s Kiss (OKTC)
  • John Lennon & Me (OKTC)
  • Romeo & Juliet (London Youth Theatre)
  • The Rez Sisters (Theatre Red & White)
  • Twelve Angry Jurors (OKTC)

Outstanding Set Design

  • Dale Hirlehey (The Rocky Horror Show)
  • Joe Recchia (The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • John Beverly (The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?)
  • Rodel Manoy (Picnic)
  • Stephen Mitchell (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)

Outstanding Youth Musical

  • Disney’s Beauty and the Beast (South Collegiate Institute)
  • Les Miserables School Edition (OKTC)
  • Phantom of the Opera (Beal Musical Theatre)
  • The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Saunders Musical Theatre)
  • The Drowsy Chaperone (OKTC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress

  • Bronwyn Powell (Rosemary, Picnic)
  • Deborah Mitchell (Matron “Mama” Morton, Chicago The Musical)
  • Heather Brandt (Martha Watson, White Christmas: The Musical)
  • Julia Webb (Various, Attempts On Her Life)
  • Nicole Nadeau (Napoleon, Animal Farm)

Outstanding Original Script

  • The Donnelly Sideshow (Jeff Culbert)
  • oz in a closet (Len Cuthbert)
  • The Hero (Jeremy Hobbs)
  • The Cultured Criminal (Robyn Israel)
  • Underbelly (Jayson McDonald)

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Becky Lenko (Picnic)
  • Becky Lenko (The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • Debra Chantler and Whitney Bolam (Chicago The Musical)
  • Jessica Toso (The Lost Soul Stroll)
  • Katie DeSouza (The Rocky Horror Show)
  • Whitney Bolam (Antony & Cleopatra by William Shakespeare)

Chris Doty Award

  • David Long

Outstanding Musical Production

  • Assassins (OKTC Alumni)
  • Chicago The Musical (Pacheco Theatre)
  • The Old Maid And The Thief (Diva Lounge Productions)
  • The Rocky Horror Show (Simply Theatre)
  • White Christmas: The Musical (Musical Theatre Productions)

Bravest Production

  • The Hero (Black Room Theatre)

Outstanding Supporting Actor

  • Barry Tepperman (Otto Frank, The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • David Bogaert (Howard, Picnic)
  • John Garlicki (Chief Bromden, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • John White (Riff Raff, The Rocky Horror Show)
  • Jordan Henry (Amos Hart, Chicago the Musical)

Outstanding Solo Performance

  • Chris McAuley (Ivan Ivanovich Nyukhin, On the Harmfulness of Tobacco by Anton Chekhov
  • Jayson McDonald (Willy, Underbelly)
  • Jeff Culbert (Johnny O’Connor, The Donnelly Sideshow)
  • Justin Quesnelle (Doyle, Earshot)

Outstanding Actress

  • Becky Blake (Roxie Hart, Chicago The Musical)
  • Deborah Mitchell (Cassie, Her Wake)
  • Ingrid Blekys (Stevie, The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?)
  • Kathy Quayle (Nurse Ratchet, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • Katy Clark (Anne Frank, The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • Sarah Hunter (Judy, White Christmas)

Outstanding Actor

  • Andre Cormier (Mark Antony, Antony & Cleopatra by William Shakespeare)
  • Jeff Werkmeister (RP McMurphy, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • Rick Kish (Frank “n” Furter, The Rocky Horror Show)
  • Simon Goodwin (Billy Flynn, Chicago The Musical)
  • Tim Bourgard (Morrie, Tuesdays With Morrie)

Outstanding Director

  • Don Fleckser (The Diary of Anne Frank)
  • Jeff Culbert (Underbelly)
  • John Pacheco (Chicago The Musical)
  • John Pacheco (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)
  • Justin Quesnelle (Animal Farm)

Outstanding Drama Production

  • Earshot (The Passionfool Theatre Company)
  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (Pacheco Theatre)
  • The Hero (Black Room Theatre)
  • Tuesdays With Morrie (Primordial Soup Theatre)
  • Underbelly (Stars And Hearts)