Nominees and Winners 2012

The 2012 Brickenden Awards

Wolf Performance Hall
Monday, January 28, 2013
Hosted by Sookie Mei and Lesleigh Turner

Special recognition award was given to Ashleigh Barney, former chair of the Brickenden Board of Directors for her outstanding contribution to the Brickenden Awards and the London Theatre community.

Outstanding Comedy Production

  • Forty Wonderful (Theatre Soup)
  • Jenny’s House of Joy (Theatre Soup)
  • November (Richmond and Tower Productions)
  • The 39 Steps (London Community Players)
  • Treasure Island (London Community Players)

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Andrew Tribe, Micah Richardson and Lisa Cardinal (Spring Awakening)
  • Brian Brokenshire, Joe Recchia, Andrew Rethazi,Ceris Thomas (Treasure Island)
  • Rob Coles (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)
  • Rob Coles (The 39 Steps)
  • Rob Coles (The Drowsy Chaperone)

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Andrew Johnston (Three in the Back, Two in the Head)
  • John McKenzie (EQUUS)
  • Rob Richardson (Seussical The Musical)
  • Scott Shpak, Andrew Rethazi (Treasure Island)
  • Ted Winter (The 39 Steps)

Outstanding Youth Drama

  • A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream (London District Christian Secondary School)
  • Dearly Departed (Theatre Laurier)
  • Reviving Ophelia (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Robin Hood’s Merry Outdoor Adventures (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • The Miracle Worker (South Secondary Collegiate Institute)

Outstanding Set Design

  • Janice Johnston and John Beverley (Jenny’s House of Joy)
  • Joe Recchia (The Drowsy Chaperone)
  • Joe Recchia (Treasure Island)
  • Justin Quesnelle (The Crucible)
  • Rick Sturgeon and Rob Cousins (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

Outstanding Youth Musical

  • A Year With Frog and Toad (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Annie (Saunders Musical Theatre)
  • Carousel (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Hairspray (Beal Musical Theatre)
  • The Drowsy Chaperone (A.B. Lucas Secondary School)

Outstanding Supporting Actress

  • Alana Rapacz (Kitty, The Drowsy Chaperone)
  • Kalina Hada-Lemon (Isolda, Leo)
  • Kayla Rock (Paulette, Legally Blonde the Musical)
  • Megan Schroder (Yitzhak, Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
  • Nicola Atkinson (Adult Women, Spring Awakening)

Outstanding Original Script

  • delilah. (Len Cuthbert)
  • I’ll Run to You: How Dysfunctional Families Breed Star-Crossed Lovers (Catherine G. Leatherdale)
  • Neverland (Jeremy Hobbs)
  • Of Some Importance (Aimee Adler)
  • Skin Deep (Trish West)

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Becky Lenko and Kim McCuaig (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)
  • Becky Lenko and Kim McCuaig (The Drowsy Chaperone)
  • Becky Lenko and Kim McCuaig (Treasure Island)
  • Debra Chantler (Jenny’s House of Joy)
  • John Iglesias (Wonka: The Musical)

Chris Doty Award

  • James Reaney

Outstanding Musical Production

  • Hedwig and the Angry Inch (Rick Kish presents)
  • Seussical The Musical (Musical Theatre Productions)
  • Spring Awakening (OKTC Alumni)
  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (Pacheco Theatre)
  • The Drowsy Chaperone (Musical Theatre Productions)

Bravest Production

  • 2012 Season (See Productions)

Outstanding Supporting Actor

  • Andrew Varkaris (Hanschen, Spring Awakening)
  • Bill Hill (Aldolpho, The Drowsy Chaperone)
  • John Krisak (Tobias, A Delicate Balance)
  • Jordan Henry (Clown, The 39 Steps)
  • Nic Bishop (Clown, The 39 Steps)

Outstanding Solo Performance

  • Clara Madrenas (Bev Oda, Not: A Bev Oda Memoir)
  • Harry Edison (Vernon, Neverland)
  • Justin Quesnelle (Victor, House)

Outstanding Actress

  • Caroline Dolny-Guerin (Claire, A Delicate Balance)
  • Julia Webb (Agnes, A Delicate Balance)
  • Martha Zimmerman (Frances, Jenny’s House of Joy)
  • Nicole Alcaidinho (Mrs. Lovett, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)
  • Rebecca McCauley (Gertrude McFuzz, Seussical The Musical)

Outstanding Actor

  • Chris Kevill (John Proctor, The Crucible)
  • David Emanuel (Alan Strang, EQUUS)
  • David Wasse (Governor Danforth, The Crucible)
  • Seth Drabinsky (Hedwig, Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
  • Steve Stockwell (Petr Pann, Petr Pann)

Outstanding Director

  • Andrew Tribe (Spring Awakening)
  • Cameron Carver (Seussical The Musical)
  • Justin Quesnelle (The Crucible)
  • Phil Arnold (The 39 Steps)
  • Rick Smith (The Drowsy Chaperone)

Outstanding Drama Production

  • A Delicate Balance (London Community Players/Arbitrary Angle)
  • EQUUS (The Verve Theatre)
  • House (Passionfool Theatre)
  • Leo (SEE Productions)
  • The Crucible (Passionfool Theatre)